The Western Fells comprise two wedge-shaped mountain groups, those between Wast Water and Ennerdale Water, and those between Ennerdale Water and Buttermere/Crummock Water. The area includes 33 Wainwrights, which are described in Book Seven of Alfred Wainwright’s Walking Guide to the Lake District Fells and two additions from the Fellranger guide, making a total of 35.

The photograph above shows the view from Green Gable summit towards Ennerdale, which cuts through the Western Fells, east to west. It shows all the Wainwrights along the High Stile ridge, plus Pillar. Photo taken 23rd May 2018.

This section was completed on 8th July 2019 with the ascent of Haystacks. That summit also marked the completion of the whole round of 214 Wainwrights.

Map of the Western Fells

The Western Fells

Fell nameHeightBaggedDate (first)
Base Brown646mBagged23/05/2018
Blake Fell573mBagged22/05/2018
Burnbank Fell *475mBagged22/05/2018
Caw Fell697mBagged19/04/2019
Crag Fell523mBagged19/04/2019
Fleetwith Pike648mBagged08/07/2019
Gavel Fell526mBagged22/05/2018
Great Borne616mBagged30/08/2018
Great Gable899mBagged23/05/2018
Green Gable801mBagged23/05/2018
Grey Knotts697mBagged23/05/2018
Hen Combe509mBagged22/05/2018
High Crag744mBagged30/08/2018
High Stile807mBagged30/08/2018
Kirk Fell802mBagged24/04/2019
Lank Rigg541mBagged21/04/2019
Low Fell423mBagged10/06/2018
Middle Fell585mBagged20/04/2019
Red Pike (Buttermere)755mBagged30/08/2018
Red Pike (Wasdale)828mBagged23/04/2019
Scoat Fell843mBagged23/04/2019
Starling Dodd635mBagged30/08/2018

* Appears in the Wainwright guide to the Western Fells but not in the Fellranger guide.

Burnbank Fell is not included in Mark Richards’ Fellranger guides but it does get a mention in the chapter on Blake Fell. In that chapter, he says of Burnbank Fell: “…in one influential list this was deemed a separate fell, and you may wonder why”.


The details in the table above are taken from various sources but most notably:
The Western Fells (Lakeland Fellranger guide, 1st edition) by Mark Richards
The Western Fells (2nd edition) by A. Wainwright and revised by Chris Jesty.
Lake District West (Superwalker XT25) by Harvey Maps